New Balance 997CGR and 997DCS

My love affair with the Made in USA New Balance 997 continues, and I was trying to hold off for as long as possible on buying these two new pairs, but when Leicester based store Wellgosh tagged me in a picture of them on Instagram, I just couldn’t help myself, I had to have them.

As well as the shoes arriving at my door in less than 24 hours, the good people of Wellgosh also threw in some NB POS that they had left over, a nice little touch and I’m extremely grateful!

DSC_0380

Anyway, on to the shoes.

First up, let’s take a look at the New Balance 997CGR in some closer detail, and then some on-foot shots.

This pair has been dubbed “Pumice Stone”, and features a tonal grey pigskin suede upper with mesh underlays, and merlot accents on the plastic heel counter and N backer. There are also some lovely 3M hits on the N and toe panel. However, the shoe comes with these strange patterned laces which look pretty out of place on the shoe, so I had to get rid of those and swap them for a clean white set.

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0048

DSC_0053

DSC_0057

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

Secondly, and the star of the show in my opinion, the New Balance 997DCS “Dusty Olive” as some have been calling it. This pair features a lush olive green nubuck upper, and tan leather accents, which compliment that olive colour perfectly. I know the durable canvas material on the toebox isn’t everyone’s first choice, but like on the 997DOL it is excellent on this shoe and a great choice from NB.

DSC_0078

DSC_0081

DSC_0085

DSC_0086

DSC_0088

DSC_0089

DSC_0094

DSC_0095

Again, a big thanks to Wellgosh for the love, head over to wellgosh.com to grab these.

Leave a comment